Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Monday, July 24, 2017

Huron and Jesuit

a Huron native and Jesuit priest with Sainte Marie Among the Hurons as it would have looked in 1640
Sainte Marie Among the Hurons was a Jesuit settlement, the first European one in Ontario

The mural was painted by Fred Lenz and is the largest outdoor historical mural in North America.

Just for fun, here is the world's largest duck (61 feet) near the largest mural (80x250 feet)




Monday Murals

Sunday, July 23, 2017

'P'

First built in 1893 as a Baptist church then in 1938 sold to the Pentecostals, the Calvary Temple grew with a new structure next door while the original Baptist church was used for youth groups and educational sessions.  In 1984 the original was demolished for an even larger educational building, leaving only the bell tower, which is now a designated historic site.

for InSPIREd Sunday

Saturday, July 22, 2017

snacking time

a photo from the archives..... no idea where I found these cows
for the Barn Collective

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Victorian delight

front porch light
Fergus, Ontario
(Van Gali's Cafe)

for Tuesday's Treasures

Sunday, July 16, 2017

St Brigid's


St Brigid's Roman Catholic Church, Ottawa
1889


note the two different towers -
the spires are galvanized metal and not only are they different in height, but one is French styled and the other is more Russian styled.
and, as you can guess by the name, it was an Irish church!


it is now used as a Centre for the Arts





for InSPIREd Sunday


Saturday, July 15, 2017

Monday, July 10, 2017

monarch

on a former garage door at an art gallery in Scarborough
this monarch butterfly may be wondering
how to get a drink of water out of that hose

for MondayMurals

Sunday, July 9, 2017

crowned glory



another church in Gasp├ęsie
one of many without a name...



Saturday, July 8, 2017

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Blog Archive